Blog Post 4

Standard

Ex-Taco Bell Interns Want Credit for Doritos Taco Huffington Post

This article is about a woman named Andrea Watt and her team who came up with the idea for the Doritos Taco back in 1995 during a summer internship. She said that her and her group pitched the idea to executives as a part of an intern competition and lost. Their idea ended up being a winner more than 15 years later, bringing in over a billion dollars in sales.Watt stated that she’s sure she signed something that states that anything they pitched would belong to Taco Bell, but she just wanted credit for her idea.

I thought this story was interesting because I’m sure a lot of people have eaten this taco, and usually hone it comes to these types of things, major companies can be sued for stealing ideas. When I read the headline I was instantly interested because I wanted to see if anyone was trying to sure Taco Bell and how the story ended. It is definitely an entertaining piece, but the video was too short. I liked that it gave all the basic information, but when you read the actual story below it, you get so much more information that wasn’t offered in the video. The video did get a lot done in the short amount of time though. They showed a picture of the team with their idea, pictures of the materials they created to market the product, and other various shots. There was a nice amount of B roll to accompany the anchorman’s A roll. I liked that they used a quote in the video as well.The audio was very clear and easy to understand.The story didn’t really have a very distinct beginning, middle, and then end but I think that is because the story was so short and to the point.The fonts used on all written parts were easy to see and read. I liked this story but I think it would have been nice to hear more quotes from Watt and her teammates in the video since they were included in the written piece.

Leave a comment